What happened to DJ SW@T?

If you know me, you know I am into loads of different music. I was originally turned on to Drum and Bass music from the start. I liked the fast paced sounds, and how it was influenced by so many other genres. From that dub and reggae sound to a more ambient and soulful feel.

I was lucky enough to work with Viper Recording’s producer Inside Info. We released two tracks “Awkward” and “Bottled” and ended up filming my first music video for “Bottled.”

There were definitely situations that made me ask myself a lot of questions about the scene and how women were viewed in it. Something that probably sounds ridiculous to so many considering the rights we have in our country but it was something more and more women had brought to my attention over the years. Situations that came to light as I experience abuse and harassment. This was actually one of the reasons I was inspired to create the Drum and Bass Girls of Canada in 2009. I created with my sisters a roster of strong women across North America in Drum and Bass ready to strengthen our brands while working together in support and motivation.

I talked about the differences in a very important interview I did with Girls on Decks. It really forced me to reflect on everything I had been through and what I was feeling in the present. It was lovely to get it out there, as typically it wasn’t something I enjoyed talking about.

I dabbled into other electronic music genres like dubstep and electro but I found myself back into house and techno music each time.

Before fully switching over, I worked with local artists Tripwave on a tune, “Feel it” featuring my vocals. An elaborated music video came out of that production directed and produced by Cory Quinn. It’s was the craziest two days of filming, not sure where I got the energy from but by the end of it I was dead to the world. The end result, one amazing video.

Once realizing my new niche I quickly saw how SW@T was heavily  known in the drum and bass community and now dubstep community with “Whispers – Biome feat. SW@T” radio 1 play.  It occurred that my new interest in music was lost on many fans and people that had come to know the name SW@T. It was time to make that clean break and move on in a new light.

Around came Kilma. The name Kilma is from this old 70’s movie. It’s super weird like most of the movies from that era… like Barberella. None the less is reminded me of my jungle roots since she was an women of the amazon and was a part of a tribe of women that ran the island. It just bought me right back to the empowerment of women. Her tribe was all female and women ran the world.

As I started playing with the word I ended up with some fun tag lines, like “Don’t Kilma Vibe” and “Kilma Tempa.” It was somewhat fitting considering my old tag line was, “Don’t F#%$ with SW@T.” On the outside it sounded like some super angry person, but really it was always about taking care of business. Like any professional you’ve got to get things done.

I dropped everything, my old alias, the music and started from scratch again. As opportunity would have it, I was able to re-brand in the Jungle as Kilma. How fitting, eh? I was given the chance to play out in Costa Rica in February of 2014. I made great new friends, saw a part of the world I’d never been to and got to play one of the most beautiful Envision Festival. It was quite the intense experience and I will never forget what knowledge I took from that trip.

When I returned home I was buzzing with different ideas, I couldn’t wait to get started. I got back in touch with a friend,Chris Tweten aka Tweten Online. He is the social media genius of Winnipeg, working in the Ramp Up Manitoba space with like minded entrepreneurs. I knew that if I wanted to make a real impact this time around, I needed to be working with people that could offer what I could not. The idea of #BrandMeSilly came to me because I always had loads of people asking me questions about branding and promoting themselves. I wanted to take those bits of advice and turn it into real knowledge that when used properly people could monetize from. With the help of Tweten Online we were able to come up with workshop to help strengthen our local community.

Another project that I started up some months ago with the Re-Brand is “The Basement Sessions.” It’s a live stream radio show that happens each Saturday evening on UStream.TV. It’s loads of fun and I get to share this show with my friends both locally and across the globe. People tune in, watch, get in the chat room and we get to be interactive, silly and enjoy one another’s company.

I think my most favourite part of the re-brand is the fresh start. It’s a very different scene of people and environment. My goal was to work with people looking for a new, exciting, and different experience. With so many DJs to choose from now a days it’s easy to get lost in opinions. With me, they knew I was going to be different from the average DJ and cater to a different crowd.

To me, djing it like dating. If you meet someone new and try to be who you think they would be into instead of just being you, you’ll end up with someone that likes the phony you. If you dj music you don’t like, that will show too. I think in order to get your own crowd of people you have to stop worrying about catering to “the people” and start worrying about pleasing yourself. The people that dig your sounds will come around.

Thoughts? Join the discussion on facebook & twitter #DontKilmaVibe

