How To Save Money When Purchasing Tunes For Your Next DJ Gig Or Mixtape

I accidentally came across what we wished I learned earlier in my career.  I don’t want to think of the hundreds of dollars I cold have saved. I know for me I’d get so excited listening to music I would simply click that purchase button, without much thought.For some of us we used to purchase vinyl. I was spending $10-$20 for a record with two tunes, sometimes only with one that I REALLY wanted. So a buck here and a couple dollars there on a site like Itunes, really didn’t seem like a big deal. That is until I realized these 3 things.

1. There are often coupons AVAILABLE!

Beatport coupons

Beatport in particular I noticed while they would run various promotions, also had hidden coupons online that you could find if you searched for them. Sometimes simply signing up a new account with these companies allowed for special discounts. If you’re like me and you tend to add a wish-list and forget about it, you’ll find after a few days a notice to purchase that list for a percentage off. Retailmenot.com is one great source for coupons.

2. Your track may be cheaper on the same site

Have you ever search for a track to notice it on various albums at different prices? Sometimes I would simply come across a tune while checking out a playlist and I’d see a price like $1.49. Often when searching for the individual track I can usually find it for slightly cheaper. On an unrelated note, can we all just chuckle about me using Sandstorm as an example?

3. Albums give the best deals.

This is the thing I stumbled across after making the mistake of spending $10.00 on a few different tunes that ended up being on the same album, for that price but with an additional 10 other tunes, I was also digging. This is where you can get REALLY savvy, search for the tune and then check out which albums it’s in and which one has the tunes you enjoy the most! I literally just spent $30.00 on two albums and a few individual tracks and have almost 100 new tunes for my next gig and mixtape launch this week on HouseJet Radio! (Yes a promo plug.)

Bonus tip:

Leave your wish-list and come back to it every few days . (If you’re not in a rush of course.) Sometimes you’ll find you don’t actually enjoy the tunes as much as you think you did that night you were sipping on a beer. It’ll help you thin out the list to only the best tracks. This doesn’t just save you money but wasted space on your computer. And if you’re REALLY not sure if you enjoy the track or not, check out the full tune on another website like youtube or soundcloud to get a better overall feel..I do this with remixes often as those pesky previews sometimes leave a bit too much to the imagination.

Dj Kilma 2017 Mixtape

Speaking of mixtapes, here is my latest one for House Jet Radio. Listen / Download Here.
Happy listening!

